March Madness | Episode 16

FedEx Couriers Get Introduced to Cool Dogs. My Favorite? An Irish Wolfhound

FedEx Couriers meet the coolest dogs!

Nancy Oglesby
3 min readMar 17, 2023

--

Brienne and Quinn / Image used with permission of the photographer.

It was a cold and blustery day in northern Illinois. The weatherman said the temps were the lowest of the year, -8ºF which sounds even worse in Celsius … -22ºC! Did I mention, blustery?

The rule is that you never, ever enter a person’s home. Makes sense, eh? I’m not just a rule-breaker answering these damned prompts, I’ve been known to use common sense now and again.

My route was in a posh city where I’d grown up, I knew it well. I got called to do a pickup at a low-slung, sprawling, mid-century ranch, settled in the center of large, open grounds with a grand circular drive in front. There wasn’t much shelter from the wind when I knocked on the door.

The door was opened by a lovely woman who immediately asked me to step inside the door. I told her that we weren’t allowed to come inside but like a good mom, she insisted.

I stepped just inside and she went off down a hall to my right to get the envelope. She had no sooner left than a dog? the size of a small horse came around the door opposite. I swear that dog’s head was damned near level with mine. My heart skipped more than one beat!

--

--

Nancy Oglesby

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication